The Social Relationships and Moral Justice stage


Much like the Social and Imaginative stage (Years 6 to 9), this stage sees the child developing a stronger peer identity and need for social relationships. The child loves the independence that comes with being a part of a group outside of their family.


At this stage, the child's desire for justice also increases as their ethics and morals have become well-developed and they have a strong sense of right and wrong. Students in this stage of development love structure and rules and so should be involved in setting up rules for the classroom and home.


The subjects covered during this developmental stage include:


Skill Based Subjects:

  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Social Studies:
    • History
    • Geography
  • English Language:
    • Reading & Writing Strategies
    • Composition
    • Vocabulary & Spelling
    • Grammar
  • Afrikaans (Additional Language - Literacy)


Inspirational Subjects:

  • Literature
  • Poetry
  • Bible
  • Art Appreciation (Visual Art and Music)


Life Skills Subjects (Conscious Living Curriculum):

  • Nutrition & Cooking
  • Gardening
  • Handwork
  • Business and Entrepreneurship