The Social and Imaginative stage:


After the Absorbent Mind stage, children enter the Social and Imaginative stage. During this stage, the child is more stable, has great energy, and is relatively calm. At this point, the child has mastered the basic human skills of basic intelligence, coordinated movements, fluent speech, and has developed a personality.


During this stage of development, the child learns through reasoning and using his/her imagination and logic to explore topics. The child's mind is filled with questions and he/she is desperate to know the who, what, when, why, and how of everything.


At this age, the child is also sensitive to peer identity. It is very important for the child to be accepted by his/her peers. It is usually at this stage, that the child will begin to distance themselves from their family in an effort to find their new identity in the peer group.


It is also during this phase of development that the child is establishing a set of ethics and morals for themselves. They are forming ideas about right and wrong, good and evil. It is at this point that the child should be introduced to fairy tales and Bible stories as they love stories where the bad guy gets punished.


Subjects covered during this developmental stage include:


Skill-Based Subjects:

  • Language and Literacy

  • Phonics and Spelling

  • Reading 

  • Grammar

  • Numeracy and Arithmetic

  • Fine-motor / Handwriting 

  • Conversational Afrikaans

  • Transcription / Dictation


Inspirational Subjects:

  • Literature / Tales and Fables / Read Aloud
  • Poetry
  • History 
  • Picture Study
  • Composer Study / Music Theory and Movement
  • Nature Study 
  • Bible
  • Art and Crafts


Life Skills Subjects:

  • Gardening
  • Cooking and Baking
  • Handwork
  • Mapwork
  • Worthy Work and Community-based projects
  • Practical Life